Your God Can’t do S….!

“The word God is for me nothing more than the expression and product of human weakness, the Bible [is] a collection of honorable, but still purely primitive, legends which are nevertheless pretty childish. No interpretation no matter how subtle can (for me) change this.” Albert Einstein

Leo Pardus, writing over at the De-Conversion blog Here has a great piece up. He lists (most) all the things that your God CANNOT do, and that’s in addition to never answering anyone’s prayers.

Below is a small sample.

Your God cannot:
“Give his church enough unity, sense, inspiration, drive, integrity, or guts to ‘accomplish such good works as to shame people of their slander’, or to ‘withstand the gates of hell’, or to ‘overcome the world’, or to ‘keep the unity of faith’, or to do anything else that he said the church should do. (What a great founder and guide!)”

If you go to the site…I urge you to read the post slowly and ponder what he is saying.  The whole list is completely true and speaks volumes about the lack of truth of the old Jewish myths.  Me and most other atheists have been saying these things for years, but never in such a manner that your mind can wrap around so quickly and completely.

**********

Karen Armstrong’s latest book, “The Case for God”, New York: Knopf, 2009 Reviewed in the November/December issue of Foreign Policy magazine has a great line that has me wondering if it was a Freudian slip, as she is very much on the side of religion.  …

She says:”Homo sapiens is also Homo religiosus. As soon as we became recognizably human, men and women started to create religions. We are meaning-seeking creatures.”  (my Emphasis)

Now, this I have been saying for 50 years…we humans created (i.e. made up) religion…not God, glad to finally have someone relatively famous agree with me.  Well, I know most of my readers agree with me, and some are famous  :-)

funny pictures of cats with captions
see more Lolcats and funny pictures

About the word of me
Interested in family and friends,grandchildren, photography, darkrooms, history, archaeology, scuba diving, computers, software, fast cars, journalism, writing, travel, ecology, news, science, and probably most other subjects you could think of. Did I mention family and friends?? I require iced tea or cold brewed coffee and a internet connection to be fully functional. Sometimes there are just so many words in my head they spill out.

6 Responses to Your God Can’t do S….!

  1. Tor Hershman says:

    AmaZINGGG Grace @ YouTube

    A cool flick with the hot chick

    )))((((((
    (*)…(-)
    ….U….
    ..[___]..

  2. LightWorker says:

    “Now, this I have been saying for 50 years…we humans created (i.e. made up) religion…not God, glad to finally have someone relatively famous agree with me.” TWOM

    Of course we “created” religion, made it up. Haven’t you noticed? We’re making it all up. Yet, we have strongly disagreed on this very point. Nothing is innately one thing or another, “for there is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so. ”

    Consensus is never true and perfect. There are as many Gods on this plane as there are people, both literally and figuratively. There are as many religions on this plane as there are people, if we mean by religion, the means by which people come to understand God, and worship Him.

    But know this: God doesn’t need you, nor I, to worship Him, praise Him, or, otherwise, to do anything for Him.

    He’s just not needy. And whether you know it or not, you’re carrying out God’s will, even as you carry out your own will. There’s no conflict here.

    And, since you’re the God that you denigrate, you’re both the attacker and He that is attacked. How interesting is that?

    Kinda like having it both ways, wouldn’t you say?

    Here’s the irony: to praise God is to praise the Self; to love God is to love the Self; to deny God, or hate God, is to deny, and hate the Self.

    You will come to know this one day. You see: You’re spending this lifetime in denial, for your own purpose. And that’s all right. You agreed to deny that which you are, to repudiate both God and the Self, for the soul purpose of advancing your soul.

    We often take a step backward before moving forward, the contrast can be heady.

  3. LightWorker says:

    “If you go to the site…I urge you to read the post slowly and ponder what he is saying. The whole list is completely true and speaks volumes about the lack of truth of the old Jewish myths. Me and most other atheists have been saying these things for years, but never in such a manner that your mind can wrap around so quickly and completely.” TWOM

    I went to the site as you urged. I find more of the same: People searching for God by denying Him. Have you ever asked yourself: Why you have this obsession with debunking God and religion?

    If these things really don’t matter to you, why spend so much time with them? Now, I’m sure you can come up with some clever statement to deny the obvious: You really would like to believe, but not as much as you would like to deprive others of what they believe. Not a very useful, nor constructive use of time.

    Note: I don’t care what you believe. And surely don’t take my words as a chastisement. Your denial serves a purpose. It brings things into perspective and gives them clarity. You serve a very useful function for believers: You give form, relief, and substance to what they really believe.

    Here’s what I left at the site you recommended. I believe I gave the author’s claims due diligence, for I responded to each of his claims with a counterclaim:

    I hate to burst your bubble: but God has done, and, is doing, all the things you say he’s not doing or haven’t done.

    You’re just not looking in all the right places. Your claims suggest that you have examined all the world’s religions, and have spoken to, and debunked, all those who lives and experiences contradict your claims.

    “- Save any of his followers from sickness, disaster, disease, or loss of goods or liberty. ”

    Happens everyday. I, myself, have experienced many healings, one of which came while in conversation with God, Himself. You know the one, that mythical entity who heals no one.

    “- Heal autoimmune disorders, cancers, genetic defects, paralyzed limbs, lost limbs, dementia, insanity, or even acne. (What a great physician!)”

    Well, how about AIDS? Would that be sufficient for you? AIDS has been healed. I won’t say it happens all the time, but enough times to say that it’s not outside of the realm of possibility.

    Many of the others that you mentioned are healed often: cancer, certain genetic defects, dementia, insanity, and even acne.

    “- Show up and convince, scare, bewilder, or just talk to any person, skeptic or seeker, in order to provide them with something to believe in other than wishful thinking. (What a great communicator!)”

    You’re right about one thing: He is a “great communicator.” He talks with people all the time. He talks with me often. He talks to you, too, but, I’m afraid, you’re just not listening: you’re too busy making fun of Him. Not to worry, you can’t hurt His feelings. He can’t be hurt or injured.

    “- Write a treatise that provides clear guidance as to what he is like and what he expects of humanity. (What a great author!)”

    Yeah, He’s all that: A “great author!” He has written that “treaties,” as you call it. And it was a bestseller, a number one bestseller on bestsellers lists for months. I see you missed it. Not to worry, if you truly wish to find it, and read it, it’ll turn up. I’m just not inclined at the moment to throw pearls your way.

    Now, don’t get me wrong: I don’t mean that in a mean way, just being factual, and candid.

    “- Manage to inspire his followers with enough sense, love, information, grace, diplomacy, brotherly love, or humility to keep his church from fragmenting into thousands of squabbling sects. (What a great administrator!)”

    Some churches manage this, but not all, but I wouldn’t lay this at God’s feet. You know how testy we humans can be, and how inclined we are to dismiss God and His will, even persisting in denying Him outright, because He doesn’t show up the way we think He should. We humans can be quite obstinate and willful when we choose to be. But God ain’t mad. He knows just how self-righteous we all can be at times.

    “- Do anything. (What a great, all-powerful deity!)”

    You mean: cause the sun to rise and set; the earth to turn on its axis; or to maintain our delicate ecosystem; or to bring more souls into the world to experience Who and What they are in the world of relativity.

    Look around you: You still wish Her to do more?

  4. thewordofme says:

    Hi Lightworker,

    Thanks for your reply. I hope you are doing well.

    You write:
    “I went to the site as you urged. I find more of the same: People searching for God by denying Him. Have you ever asked yourself: Why you have this obsession with debunking God and religion?”

    Really…you think they are searching for god? I don’t get that impression at all. I don’t have an obsession with disproving god…I have an obsession with disproving all religion, and I find it’s a fascinating thing to research and learn about.

    Original reason for beginning the journey was a wife that was starting to study religion and her wanting me to follow in her steps. I have had a strong belief that religion was phony since I was about 13 years of age and could already ask questions that stumped many religious believers. Anyway I started research on the interwebs and was astounded at how much info was available and how right I had been at such an early age.

    You write:
    “If these things really don’t matter to you, why spend so much time with them? Now, I’m sure you can come up with some clever statement to deny the obvious: You really would like to believe, but not as much as you would like to deprive others of what they believe. Not a very useful, nor constructive use of time.”

    I spend so much time on it because as I already mentioned I find the subject fascinating. I also find it fascinating that so many people believe in such a silly melodrama that is so obviously made up by man. So many chinks have been found in the Bible and dogma that it sinks in the ocean of logic in our present day.
    I also believe that it’s a crime that some of the evangelical fundamentalist denominations out there are crippling their children by teaching them lies about how the world and life works. Some of them intentionally keep their children from higher education so as not to “pollute” them with secular knowledge. Another thing that is relevant to me is that Christian proselytizers try to convert me all the time…I give them payback. :-)

    Science and the scientific method is primarily responsible for bringing humanity up out of the Dark ages and make life better. And you know what…the only science that religion really fights against is that which helps to disprove their old mythology…you know- Adam and Eve, original sin, world-wide flood, Noah’s Ark, Tower of Babel, Exodus, parting of the Red Sea Jesus as a messiah, etc., etc..

    You write:
    “Note: I don’t care what you believe. And surely don’t take my words as a chastisement. Your denial serves a purpose. It brings things into perspective and gives them clarity. You serve a very useful function for believers: You give form, relief, and substance to what they really believe.”

    And of course you are free to believe whatever you want too and I am not put off by what you say, I enjoy the discourse and challenge. I am glad to serve some purpose and I feel that if enough info is put out there I just might change a few minds…or at the very least give some people an urge to learn what’s really behind their religion and beliefs.

    You write:
    ““- Save any of his followers from sickness, disaster, disease, or loss of goods or liberty. ”Happens everyday. I, myself, have experienced many healings, one of which came while in conversation with God, Himself. You know the one, that mythical entity who heals no one.”

    Yet this God of yours has NEVER healed an amputee. Statistically there is no proof what-so-ever that your God has ever answered a prayer…and this has been studied extensively. The Bible of course has these verses that have Jesus telling his disciples that their prayers WILL be answered…all they have to do is ask…they can move mountains. What a disappointment to those who pray for relief or help or healing and never-ever get it.

    You write:
    “Well, how about AIDS? Would that be sufficient for you? AIDS has been healed. I won’t say it happens all the time, but enough times to say that it’s not outside of the realm of possibility.”
    And:
    “Many of the others that you mentioned are healed often: cancer, certain genetic defects, dementia, insanity, and even acne.”

    All medical “cures” that religion claims has never been proven (placebo effect), I know of at least 3 or 4 studies that have looked at prayer and tried to prove it helps by statistical methodology…they could not prove it. Don’t take my word for it, look them up.

    Only science and medicine have been able to cure many of humankind’s diseases. The Bible of course treats them as demons or “not believing enough.” And, if you believe in creationism, of course God is the creator of all these diseases or demons.

    You write”
    “You’re right about one thing: He is a “great communicator.” He talks with people all the time. He talks with me often. He talks to you, too, but, I’m afraid, you’re just not listening: you’re too busy making fun of Him. Not to worry, you can’t hurt His feelings. He can’t be hurt or injured.”

    See the writings above about prayer. There is no God listening to you, me, or anybody. There is no God talking to you, me, or anybody. I don’t make fun of God…how can you make fun of something that does not exist?

    You write regarding God’s inability to have a coherent community of churches that is properly administered:
    “Some churches manage this, but not all, but I wouldn’t lay this at God’s feet. You know how testy we humans can be, and how inclined we are to dismiss God and His will, even persisting in denying Him outright, because He doesn’t show up the way we think He should. We humans can be quite obstinate and willful when we choose to be. But God ain’t mad. He knows just how self-righteous we all can be at times.”

    This criticism stands and is one powerful attestation that there is no God. Religion is terribly disorganized. Why would there be 10,000 or more different ways to believe and worship the “One True God” if he is in fact existent? Why would 2/3rds of the world population not believe in him?

    He/She/It and his believers have had 3500 years to do his work here on earth, and the existence of this god is still not accepted by all, and no one can agree on the particulars of his worship.

    You write:
    “You mean: cause the sun to rise and set; the earth to turn on its axis; or to maintain our delicate ecosystem; or to bring more souls into the world to experience Who and What they are in the world of relativity.”

    The rotation of the earth causes the sun to rise and set. All the mechanics of the presence and workings of the world and universe can be described with the natural sciences.

    Absence of evidence is evidence of absence when the evidence should be there and isn’t.

  5. LightWorker says:

    “Really…you think they are searching for god? I don’t get that impression at all. I don’t have an obsession with disproving god…I have an obsession with disproving all religion, and I find it’s a fascinating thing to research and learn about.”

    To do one is to do the other. Wouldn’t you agree? Yes, I think you’re searching for God. I think most atheists and agnostics are searching for God. Sure, it’s pretty much disguised, as you have managed so well to do: “I have had a strong belief that religion was phony since I was about 13 years of age and could already ask questions that stumped many religious believers.”

    At bottom, you really do wish to believe, but are more vested in being right, and proving yourself right. All people are searching for God. There nothing else they can do. It matters not what they call it, the pursuit of happiness, peace, contentment, satisfaction, health, life, love, wealth, or what have you. It’s all God disguised as something else.

    “I also believe that it’s a crime that some of the evangelical fundamentalist denominations out there are crippling their children by teaching them lies about how the world and life works. Some of them intentionally keep their children from higher education so as not to “pollute” them with secular knowledge. Another thing that is relevant to me is that Christian proselytizers try to convert me all the time…I give them payback. :-)”

    If they’re lies, as you perceive it, why should you care? These “polluted” kids will live out their lives as many others before them, and they will die, never to be heard from again. Who cares if they live life as a lie, or in the lap of truth, as you perceive it? Life is meaningless. It serves no purpose. And who has the last word on how “life works.” Scientists are changing their mind daily on many positions previously held. Whose to say that even E = mc2 won’t one day be mostly irrelevant as new information comes along.

    I think you have issues with “Christian proselytizers.” I like your candor here, but is this really a worthy pursuit for one with such an excellent intellect. Why not put that energy somewhere else. I don’t like proselytizers, but my beef doesn’t go as far as yours. Yet, if this brings you a measure of satisfaction, continue along the path you’ve carved. You will, anyway, with or without my blessing.

    “Science and the scientific method is primarily responsible for bringing humanity up out of the Dark ages and make life better. And you know what…the only science that religion really fights against is that which helps to disprove their old mythology…you know- Adam and Eve, original sin, world-wide flood, Noah’s Ark, Tower of Babel, Exodus, parting of the Red Sea Jesus as a messiah, etc., etc.”

    Yeah, this science that you glorify has brought us to the brink of our own self-destruction. But I’m not going to trash science. It has brought much to light about our material world, but it’s helpless in explaining to us consciousness, awareness, and how mind and matter cooperates. You know: the really important stuff.

    Here’s what your science doesn’t know, but may one day: We’re not the only beings who have inhabited this planet. And I don’t mean species of man, but beings not yet discovered. They came and they went: They moved on. Now, I wonder how they managed this wondrous feat. Where’s the scientific evidence, the machines, the infrastructure to have made all this happen.

    It didn’t happen in the way science is now pursuing. It happened because they tapped into their spiritual selfhood, and translated themselves into a higher sphere. You know: The way Jesus did.

    Now, I don’t expect you to believe me. I brought this up to point out the limits of science. Science will not save us from ourselves. And it may hasten our demise. Religion has failed as well. But, not to worry, something big is on the horizon.

    “Yet this God of yours has NEVER healed an amputee.”

    How can you be so sure? The world is old, and many have come and gone. ‘Never’ lasts a long time, and can’t be altered.

    “Statistically there is no proof what-so-ever that your God has ever answered a prayer…and this has been studied extensively.”

    By whom, using what data?

    “The Bible of course has these verses that have Jesus telling his disciples that their prayers WILL be answered…all they have to do is ask…they can move mountains. What a disappointment to those who pray for relief or help or healing and never-ever get it.”

    Have you talked with all those who have prayed, and their prayers were answered? In my neck of the woods, the wind gusted up pretty bad, I prayed for a few minutes, and it took less than ten minutes for it all to stop. Coincidence? You’d say so. I have always manifested excellent control over the weather, able to influence it when it turned ugly. Coincidence? You’d say so. It didn’t take place under strict scientific conditions. Actually, those conditions might interfere with the results, too many naysayers present.

    “See the writings above about prayer. There is no God listening to you, me, or anybody. There is no God talking to you, me, or anybody. I don’t make fun of God…how can you make fun of something that does not exist?”

    Isn’t this a pretty sweeping statement. Because you’re not aware of Him speaking to you, why would you insist that my experiences are invalid? Your experiences are valid. From your vantage point, God is not speaking to you. I would never make such a sweeping statement for you, unless I had an ulterior reason for doing so–like, for example, dismissing even anecdotal proof to the contrary. And we make fun of Peter Pan, Santa Claus, and a host of other characters. We do it, but for naught, they aren’t scarred by it, and neither is God, real, or otherwise.

    For the record, many others talk with me. In my role as sentinel, many have talked with, Michael Jackson being the most recent person of note. He talked with me before he died, and after he died. I was requested to pray for him on many occasions–before his death and after his death. After his death, he said that he had taken Diprivan and that it had stopped his heart. This was before anyone knew for sure what had killed him. I would hear the thoughts of others more readily were they not so guarded. Most of the time, people shut others out, keep their thoughts private.

    “He/She/It and his believers have had 3500 years to do his work here on earth, and the existence of this god is still not accepted by all, and no one can agree on the particulars of his worship.”

    You’re missing our purpose for being here. It’s not about believing in God, but in yourself. God doesn’t care if you believe in Him, worship Him, or any of that. “Know thy self” has been the sage advice handed down for centuries. We’re all doing God’s work. You cannot not do His work. If you’re here, you’re doing God’s work. It’s not a prerequisite that you know this, remember this, in order to do it.

    “The rotation of the earth causes the sun to rise and set. All the mechanics of the presence and workings of the world and universe can be described with the natural sciences.”

    Of course it does. Of course science can go a long way towards offering explanations for what it sees is occurring, but science has no definitive explanation to support all that it sees. And it never will. The more science discovers, the more science uncovers, the more will be left unseen, and hidden. It cannot go where it cannot go. The world, as we see it, is not supported by the physical laws that appear to undergird it, just as your body is not alive, but is being kept alive by an unseen energy and intelligence.

    The illusion is complete. The Matrix is not seen, but merely hinted at. And your science will never look behind the curtain to see who’s really pulling the levers, and turning the wheels.

    “Absence of evidence is evidence of absence when the evidence should be there and isn’t.”

    It’s there, but can’t be seen with the human eye, and science hasn’t yet developed instruments sufficiently sensitive to detect it. It may never do so. That’s why we must depend on other means to discover the “unknown country.”

    Your friends over at LeoPardus blog, as expected, fell back on threadbare tactics that atheist have used against me over the years. When they have no answers for my claims, they resort to ridicule and derision. It’s childish behavior, but it always comes to that, and I’m always told to leave, sometimes quietly, and sometimes loudly.

    I understand their reluctance to engage me. In their shoes, I’d probably do the same. You can’t have a guy coming around who says that he can influence the weather, or that God answers prayers, or who has had sundry other experiences that science has no explanation for. And to say that God talks to him, well that’s the straw that broke the atheist’s back.

    In truth, I was becoming bored. It’s like trying to describe what life is like on a planet on the other side of the galaxy, and have those you’re talking with tell you how spaced out you are. They’re neither curious, nor seekers of knowledge that they have a priori concluded is foolishness. I now understand how Columbus must have felt.

    For all your skepticism, you haven’t been rude, or derisive. Thanks.

  6. thewordofme says:

    Hello Lightworker,

    Short on time…I have only spoken to Mr. Pardus the one time to ask permission to use a few lines of his work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

