Intelligent Design or Creationism

“It ain’t the parts of the Bible that I can’t understand that bother me, it is the parts that I do understand.” – Mark Twain

Aha, the challenge is taken up. I just love arguments like this. It’s what makes the Internet great. More he said, he said.

He Said: With many years experience as a biologist, creationist, ex-evolutionist, and teacher, I wonder what special knowledge that …name deleted…. And thewordofme have for making such irresponsible statements.

Well sir, I have no special knowledge. I’m semi-literate, as I admit to on my blog’s About page. My claim to knowledge about this subject is that I am a voracious reader. For over 45 years these subjects of creation, religion, God myths, and lately the rise of the Young Earth Creationists, and it’s offshoots Intelligent Design and The Discovery Institute. In matters of science I tend to believe scientists over preachers. In matters of a magic creature, I tend to believe in scientists…i.e…no such thing.

He said: If either of you had any conviction in the veracity of the myth of evolution, you would be unafraid to have it exposed and scrutinized in the classroom f or fear of it being exposed as the fraud that it remains.

Certainly sir, I have no fear about that, but there’s a problem….most of the scientists are busy sciencing, and have probably gone through this many times, and are too busy to go through it again. Having said that, there have been many debates on the subject and I expect there will be more. Science always wins because religion has to fall back on ‘magic’ and that’s not allowed in science.

He said: A sure sign of the desperation of evolutionists is typified by statements like yours that make blatant, unsubstantiated claims as if saying so makes it right. Your ploy is “When all else fails, then deny”.

I admit nothing I deny nothing. Get that rubber hose away from me. Boy, you talk about ‘unsubstantiated claims’.

He said: What is especially shameful is that you would deny students the rare opportunity to become active participants in an important contemporary controversy and allowing them participation in the scientific process of weighing the evidence and drawing their own conclusions. It is not only unscrupulous and unconscionable, but terribly bad science.

I really have to think you are kidding in this paragraph. If, in fact you are a teacher, you will/would realize the inanity of what you are saying. First of all this is not ‘an important contemporary controversy’… it has been settled many times. Secondly: the ‘terrible bad science’ you mention, would come from you. Thirdly: the unscrupulousness would be coming from you.

Science class in school is for science subjects. I would NOT like your religion pushed upon my kids. I sure you would feel the same about mine.

Religion classes belong in church or a separate, elective class in school. The constitution alludes to this.

For someone to preach to our young kids in school that the Earth is only 6,000 to 8,000 years old and men were roaming the land with dinosaurs, and that the whole Earth was flooded at one time when God was angry with us is pure foolishness. The evidence is right in front of us and it is NOT what you believe on faith.

Add to Technorati Favorites

About the word of me
Interested in family and friends,grandchildren, photography, darkrooms, history, archaeology, scuba diving, computers, software, fast cars, journalism, writing, travel, ecology, news, science, and probably most other subjects you could think of. Did I mention family and friends?? I require iced tea or cold brewed coffee and a internet connection to be fully functional. Sometimes there are just so many words in my head they spill out.

4 Responses to Intelligent Design or Creationism

  1. ronbrown says:

    Man-oh-man, I feel for you, wordofme. Is it not exhausting dealing with these ignoramuses? They seem to think that their ridiculousness is somehow special. Perhaps we should ask this individual if he thinks that we are doing the kids, science and society a disservice by not teaching astrology along side astronomy and alchemy along side chemistry so that they can decide themselves. Because, well, why let the scientists who are experts in their field with phds, decades of experience, and the collaboration and scrutiny of similarly intelligent, experienced and critically thinking peers determine what is the most fitting account of the evidence when we can let 15 year olds do it!

  2. doubtingthomas426 says:

    I’m an Atheist and firmly support Creationism being taught in public schools … as soon as private Christian schools agree to teach evolutionary science.

  3. thewordofme says:

    Hi ronbrown, Thank you for feedback. I’m actually having fun ‘talking’ with some of them.
    Haven’t got any real goof balls yet. At this point I’m starting to think there’s something hardwired into a persons brain that makes them believe in a God.
    They can be perfectly rational, well mostly, with the real world, but have a disconnect about religion.
    Mostly though they are nice and I’m enjoying the interaction.
    You have a great year and thanks again.

  4. thewordofme says:

    Hi doubtingthomas426, That sounds like a perfect tradeoff to me.
    I’ve heard that the Catholic’s are actually saying that evolution may be right. I think I’ll do some research on that.
    Have a great year and thanks for your feedback.

Leave a Reply

