Is God Even Real?

Anyone who can worship a trinity and insist that his religion is a monotheism can believe anything … just give him time to rationalize it. — Robert A Heinlein

Does your religion adapt to new discovery or does it deny the existence of new facts? There are a few that adapt, and although I kinda think this is good, it still bothers me in many ways. I mean, to me religion, because God supposedly creates it, or us, or whatever, should have everything right from the beginning. There should be no questions, or even a perceived need to question anything, because everything meshes perfectly and makes sense from the beginning and explains all, from the start of time, to a thousand years or ten thousand or a billion years into the future.

If a true God created this universe, this galaxy, solar system, Earth, and man/woman, animals, etc., there should be no questions about it at all. Inquiring minds (no sly comments please;) that many people have, should immediately see the answers. There should not be scientists, or just plain folks who have an inquiring intelligence seeing inconsistencies in our existence. There should be no need for the constant bickering and back at you thing that has been going on for the last three or four hundred years now.

Our physical, universe, and such are more and more found to be describable in a testable physical manner. The science doesn’t go away–because it works–and explains in a manner that cannot be denied by reasoning, functioning, intellect. Religion cannot be explained adequately without magic. A phenomenon that has yet to be observed.

People who claim to be scientists and believe in a spirit that lives in the sky, who goes around creating matter and forming stuff, and wanting people to forever fall to their knees to worship her/him and follow this code of conduct that very few, if any people could, with any success, well I think there is something going on that may be a genetic thing. There is something in their DNA or brain connections that predisposes them to think that way. Look at the evidence they bring forth. How long does it take to disprove it by provable fact? If a God did this the truth would be staring you in the face. But it’s not, and never has been, and the assumptions of facts in the Bible are not valid anymore. But, then of course they never were.

The evidence keeps building up, and some otherwise intelligent people keep denying its truth. The real truth should be so in your face that its undeniable….by anyone.

A real, loving God, would not subject untold billions of people to the misery that this world has dished out before modern times…and still does to third world countries. There is no apologetics in existence that can make this right-No God works this way; unless he is a Dark God.

Can you imagine yourself being born into Darfur, or any of a dozen or more countries in Africa, and sitting in the desert as a child, starving to death? Now imagine tens of thousands or millions of your brother and sisters starving right along with you. A God, who sits back, sees this and does nothing, is not a competent God.

Does any of the melodrama that Christian religion attempts to impose on the whole world make logical sense?

Add to Technorati Favorites

About the word of me
Interested in family and friends,grandchildren, photography, darkrooms, history, archaeology, scuba diving, computers, software, fast cars, journalism, writing, travel, ecology, news, science, and probably most other subjects you could think of. Did I mention family and friends?? I require iced tea or cold brewed coffee and a internet connection to be fully functional. Sometimes there are just so many words in my head they spill out.

19 Responses to Is God Even Real?

  1. “There should be no need for the constant bickering and back at you thing that has been going on for the last three or four hundred years now.”
    …more like THOUSANDS of years. There’s a scandal, for sure, and you’ve tagged it. There’s a paradox, indeed, and it’s obvious.
    How could a the faith of a child also be a faith that can be challenged more often during easy or simple times than during trials?
    You pose many great questions. You raise many great facts, especially the “melodrama that Christian religion attempts to impose on the whole world”.
    I can’t say much that would be any use, but as an academiac and an intellectual, I am in love with the intrigue, the questions, the clear answers and the ones that hurt. I fell in love with the Creator because…well, it made “logical sense”.
    Thanks for this post. I love your honesty and was inspired to dig even further. Well done.

  2. “There should be no need for the constant bickering and back at you thing that has been going on for the last three or four hundred years now.”
    …more like THOUSANDS of years. There’s a scandal, for sure, and you’ve tagged it. There’s a paradox, indeed, and it’s obvious.
    How could a the faith of a child also be a faith that can be challenged more often during easy or simple times than during trials?
    You pose many great questions. You raise many great facts, especially the “melodrama that Christian religion attempts to impose on the whole world”.
    I can’t say much that would be any use, but as an academic and an intellectual, I am in love with the intrigue, the questions, the clear answers and the ones that hurt. I fell in love with the Creator because…well, it made “logical sense”.
    Thanks for this post. I love your honesty and was inspired to dig even further. Well done.

  3. daymore says:

    Hi thewordofme,

    Did you not know that when Julius Ceaser went to the British isles in the 1st century A.D. that he found long-haired, blue-bodied barbarians there? It is not the Gospel which made them to be a great nation there?
    Could you possibily challenge that fact?

    Go to India. In the beginning of the 20th century the Mizoes there were a barbarious head-hunting tribe. They remained like that for generations. But the gospel came to them and now they are a lovely group of people there with men and women among their number who could adorn any modern society. In less than a century the curtsey was returned when a Mizo with a Ph.D. qualification went to UK as a missionary! Did you not know that?

    Wherever the Gospel was accepted in a matter of one or two generations they came to main-line civilization without doubt. Because with the Gospel came education and health care etc. But the great secret is that the Gospel teaches people to pray to the Almighty. And the old saying, “prayer moves the hands which move the universe” stands true even today.

    If God is not real to you, it may be that you have never tried Him. TRY JESUS!

  4. daymore says:

    I love Him too!

  5. thewordofme says:

    Hi Cathi Stegall,
    Thank you for your kind post. I, like you, really like the intrigue and drama that religion has imposed on the world. Even if I sound like I am down on religion, I am really just trying to get reaction, so I can explore peoples personal thoughts on the subject. Even if God turns out to not be true–as I believe, the human history of interaction with Him and the church is worthy of study.
    I don’t suppose you would like to share more on what you said about the Creator making logical sense to you? No pressure at all. I will understand perfectly if you are to busy or reluctant to write back.
    Again, thanks for your reply.

  6. thewordofme says:

    Hi Daymore,
    Thank you for your kind reply.

    You said: >>”Did you not know that when Julius Ceaser went to the British isles in the 1st century A.D. that he found long-haired, blue-bodied barbarians there? It is not the Gospel which made them to be a great nation there?
    Could you possibily challenge that fact?”<<

    I’m not sure I understand all of what you are saying here.
    I think that in those times most people on Earth had long hair. As for the Blue Bodies; maybe it was warpaint that we know some of the tribes in the UK and Scotland used.
    I personally don’t think it was the gospel that made them a great nation. What did that, was keen intelligence and a fierce brotherhood of warmongers. 🙂

    Never been to India, but would like to someday. I must confess I have not studied much about the continent or its people. I do know that several “lost” tribes have been found in some parts of the world and they seem to be every bit as smart as anybody else. Whether introducing them to the God of the Christians and Muslims does them any good I would have to explore more.

    The Christian faith, minus Catholicism, is pretty good at pulling people up. Their beliefs mesh pretty good with a kinder more tolerant society.

    The reason I leave out Catholics is because of the churches money-grubbing ways. Countless millions of people are, in part because of the way the Catholic church operates, forever in poverty. Think of Mexico, Central and South America. The dark ages of the last Millennium was probably caused by the Catholic church.

    If I were to ask for God–do you suppose she/he will answer? Hasn’t worked so far.

    Again, thank you very much for your reply.

  7. re: “I don’t suppose you would like to share more on what you said about the Creator making logical sense to you?”

    Oh, where do I begin? I fear I could write an entire book on the logical reasons why I am so in love with my Creator. Due to the fact that this is a blog comment, I will try to keep this short, but would certainly love additional dialogue upon any such request.
    I will list my primary reason as my sole reason and that is, for the sake of circular reasoning – I am in love with my Creator because of the proof in His very Creation.
    Let me explain: Did you ever notice that even creation sings the song of redemption? There is death of the day into night and the resurrection of the morning? There is the death of the flowers into the ground in the fall and resurrection in the spring? Even so, the seasons, there is the death of what is recognized as “life” in the winter, and just as the flower, it resurrects into life again in the spring.
    I am in love for I am loved. I not only get to read freely of this redemption but I also get to see it over and over again, every day, every season, every year.

    I sincerely hope this solitary reasoning does not stand isolated but is recognized to have worth within the promises found in the Bible. I fear, however, using Scripture upon which to draw my argument, I would create further unrest. So, I will comfortably place my justification of my love for my Creator in creation itself.

    I am honored that you would seek my response. Thank you for your open mind, your questioning essence and your considerate responses [I could only imagine the myriad responses you ‘could’ have given]. Thank you.

  8. daymore says:

    RE: “If I were to ask for God–do you suppose she/he will answer? Hasn’t worked so far.”

    Why doubt at all? It is He who asked us to call on Him. (Jer.33:3; Ps.55:15). And He promised to ansewer us. May I say that He is bound by His promise!

    Sure, there are some prerequisites. One of the first is faith. “He who comes to God must believe that He IS; and that He is a rewarder of those who ask Him(Heb.11:6)

    If you are really serious about having a go, I suggest that you flip through the biographies of men who prayed and got results. For example George Mueller of Bristol is said to have fed 20,000 orphans in the 19th century just by faith and prayer. I am sure any one could do it if conditions are met.

    I have seen a bit of that in my life as well. It works perfect;y well. I found myself to be the only hindrance for God to do great and mighty things for me.

    Kindly have a go and come out with some fantastic results.

    God bless.

  9. daymore says:

    cathi stequell,

    Your appreciation of the created wrold is simply fantastic. Great indeed. Thank you for the post.

  10. Pingback: The love of a creature {18/25} « a life of perpetual transition

  11. thewordofme says:

    Hi Cathi Stegall,
    Please read latest posting. Thank you so much for your answering. 🙂

  12. thewordofme says:

    Hi daymore,
    Thank you for your reply.
    Regarding the faith and prayers last discussed. I would have to say that my prayers probably were not answered because I had no faith.

    I lost whatever faith I had at age thirteen, and the lifelong quest for knowledge that I have undergone has not provided me proof or reason to blindly go along with any religious belief.

    If I can’t see proofs, or reach out and touch it, smell it, or look it in the eye–I can’t believe it.

    One would have to prove magic or the supernatural…I don’t believe it can be done

    Regarding Mr. Mueller in the UK, the power of positive thinking is wonderful. I have used it successfully myself.

    Many thanks for your time taken to “speak” with me.

  13. daymore says:

    RE: “If I can’t see proofs, or reach out and touch it, smell it, or look it in the eye–I can’t believe it.”

    God became man and walked on earth in Jesus of Nazareth. He showed Himself alive. Listen to eye witness account. 1Jo 1:1-4.

    “We write to you about the Word of life, which has existed from the very beginning. We have heard it, and we have seen it with our eyes; yes, we have seen it, and our hands have touched it.

    When this life became visible, we saw it; so we speak of it and tell you about the eternal life which was with the Father and was made known to us.

    What we have seen and heard we announce to you also, so that you will join with us in the fellowship that we have with the Father and with his Son Jesus Christ.

    We write this in order that our joy may be complete.”

    Now it is your turn to nrespond. If you respond in faith you will get positive results. If you respond in doubt and belief, results will be corresponding to it. Choice is yours.

    Have a great day.

  14. thewordofme says:

    Hi daymore,

    You said: “God became man and walked on earth in Jesus of Nazareth”

    And then you said: “What we have seen and heard we announce to you also, so that you will join with us in the fellowship that we have with the Father and with his Son Jesus Christ.”

    Now you have me confused: Did God make himself into his son; was the Son-God?

    Why does Jesus talk of his father in heaven, telling earthmen that only the father knew of the time of the second coming?

    And why do people who believe keep saying one is the other and vice-versa?

    The concept of the trinity makes no sense. (Forgot to add the Holy Spirit earlier. 🙂

    You write: “We write to you about the Word of life, which has existed from the very beginning. We have heard it, and we have seen it with our eyes; yes, we have seen it, and our hands have touched it.”

    Now are you saying the “Word of Life” existed 4.5 billion years ago, or are you thinking more like 6,000 years ago? This hearing, seeing, and touching you speak of, are you talking spiritual hallucinations or REAL hands on stuff?
    I’ll bet you’re talking about the Bible. 🙂

    You said: “When this life became visible, we saw it; so we speak of it and tell you about the eternal life which was with the Father and was made known to us.”

    Which life became visible? I’m sorry what you are saying makes no sense to me at all.

    I must confess, the fellowship I have with wife, family, and many friends is totally fulfilling to me. I have no need to search outside that circle, but I have a need for knowledge, so I research…with respect.

    I really appreciate your taking your time to speak to me of your beliefs and will talk-or listen-to you any time. But, you will not convert me.

  15. daymore says:

    RE: “But, you will not convert me”.

    By no means! Not interested to. Simply trying answer your qns. to exchange ideas and for time-pass!!

    In a previous post you asked, whether prayer would work for you.

    I said it would work if you had faith.

    Then you said you needed tangible proofs.

    Then, indeed I quoted from the Bible to tell you that the apostle who wrote those words was the one who handled, touched,saw, looked on God who became man in Christ.

    To me that is more than sufficient a proof. I work with it and it works fantastic for me.

    I also said now it is your turn and you will surely get results if you act on the available proof. Is it trying to convert you?

    About trinity I can’t explain it to you. I can’t explain how telepathy works either. But I know it works. I live with many other mystries in life. Do you have answers to all questions about life that you live with, like how the food that you eat becomes blood and marrow? If you decide to eat only after you could explain fully how metabolism works, I bet you’ll never be able to eat.

    Whatever, remember that itnis is undeniable that God is real to those who go to Him in faith. To you God may not be so because you don’t meet the essential condition of faith.

    Now if you want the services of a Banker or an Air-lines, would you ditacte terms to them or would you accept their terms of service? If you do not want to accept their terms, how could you ever blame them, like you blame God?

    Would surely love to hear from you; not for converting but for exchanging ideas. Do you think you could convert me to agnosticism by your posts which I read?

    Have a great day.

  16. daymore says:

    You said in a previous post that Mueller achieved great things in life through the power of positive thinking. But all his biographers say that he spent considerable amount of time every day on his knees reading the Bible and praying. Whom shall we believe, you or the biographers?

    You too seemed to have used positive thinking profitabily. Very good. Kindly tell us what is real in your life that all may learn from you. Why talk about what is not real at all?

    Is God Even Real?

    Re: Tell us the name of some thing, any thing which does not exist other than God (as you say God does not) and yet man every where has been talking about it non-stop from time immemorial even until today.

    Waiting for your answer.

    Have a great day!

  17. thewordofme says:

    Hi daymore,
    In answer to your Feb. 28th reply… please see latest post.

  18. Ryan says:

    Hello everyone. I had read most of these posts and thought I would put my input into this topic. Now I am a individual that has a hard time believing in the religious aspects of life or any kind of thing related to religion. I don’t see how religion has gotten us anywhere. If anything I remember religion has brought more death upon people than science, and this goes back to the “witchcraft” days and etc. I have always felt science has gotten us where we are today. When I hear, everything had to have a start, the planet, the universe and how you claim “God” created each and everything. The question is how or where did “God” come from, and the response I get is, he created himself. What doesn’t make any logical sense is how can you create yourself when nothing is there in existance to help create that mass/matter/object or being in the first place?
    and this bible thing, if the bible is truely accurate about “God”, I expect not one thing out of the bible since it was written that nothing had been altered or changed since completed because that just faults it as being errored and incorrect. and where did these thousands of versions of the bible come in place at this time when the printing press wasn’t invented hundreds of years from now? just a thought…

  19. thewordofme says:

    Hi Ryan, thanks for your input.

    The Bible is obviously a fraud, as is the religion itself. People that believe in either have not the intellectual honesty to examine all there is to know about Christianity.

    twom

Leave a Reply

