Are Angels and UFO’s Real?

A person writes to me saying that I should believe in Angels and Demons and maybe UFO’s because ‘so many people have seen them,’ and there are documented accounts of the phenomena. Well I don’t believe there is any ‘documented’ cases that have actually turned out to be supernatural works. If there were I think the world of religion would be vastly different than it is now…like the churches would be overflowing with people instead of losing people.

Here’s how I look at it.

According to MUFON (Mutual UFO Network), the one organization that keeps track of UFO sightings in the US, 12% of people in the US have either seen or knows someone who has seen a UFO.  That works out to about 4,000,000 people. That’s a lot of people.

The federal government has investigated UFO’s and they finally gave up, but they took it seriously for a lot of years. They ended up with about 500 cases with no explanation.  However, look around you…do you see UFO’s buzzing around, do you see government paying attention to the phenomena anymore, do you see widespread acceptance of UFO’s in our country, or any other? Anybody you know doing business with aliens?

After all these years there is still no tangible proofs that UFO’s exist.  In the early years of the UFO phenomena there were thousands and thousands of sightings every year, it drove officials crazy trying to keep up. Now they only trickle in, maybe a hundred sightings a year.

In the early years of the Hebrews and Christianity, people reported Angels and Demons, the Saints were visited, there were signs from heaven all over the place, Enoch walked and talked with God and the Angels gave him a tour of heaven, there were prophets roaming the countryside prophesying. There were people walking around who ‘actually’ saw the hand of God.

There are still some reports of Angels and Demons, but the government has never investigated the reports. Anyone reporting visitations from them are looked at as funny. Anyone who says they are in direct communication with God or Jesus is not believed…unless it’s part of their denominations shtick, and the followers are indoctrinated into this silliness. The Catholic Church kinda’ keeps track of bleeding statues and likenesses of Mary on plate glass windows and such. I believe they just chalk it up to the people’s simple faith though.

Simple facts staring us in the face.  There are NO bona fide or unquestionable, properly documented, official sightings of UFO’s, Angels, or Demons. There are NO documented cases of real Magic or supernatural events…ever.  How full do you think the churches would be if Angels were proven true? What percentage of the WORLD population would be Christians if Angels were real?  Christianity has no more, or better, claim to truth than Islam or Buddhists, or Hindu’s.

Billions of people can *believe* something…that still doesn’t make it true.

God only has to give one sign…show up in person to the world, or do something that is undeniably supernatural that the world sees.  Anything else is just men’s manipulation of the words…and people.

http://www.mufon.com/fastfacts.htm

About the word of me
Interested in family and friends,grandchildren, photography, darkrooms, history, archaeology, scuba diving, computers, software, fast cars, journalism, writing, travel, ecology, news, science, and probably most other subjects you could think of. Did I mention family and friends?? I require iced tea or cold brewed coffee and a internet connection to be fully functional. Sometimes there are just so many words in my head they spill out.

8 Responses to Are Angels and UFO’s Real?

  1. ggw_bach says:

    dunno. People see _something_ in the skies. Don’t know what it is, but there are so many reportings, so much stuff captured on camera phones. I personally couldn’t dismiss all those cases out of hand.

  2. thewordofme says:

    Hi ggw bach, thanks for writing.

    Since 1947 how many cases or sightings have been reported?
    How many people and governments have been investigating?

    Wheres the proof ?

    Don’t you think that if they were proven our world would be tremendously different than it is now.

    Just like religion…show me the proof and I’m a believer.

  3. TRAITH says:

    thewordofme you put up a great point of view and argument.

    Yet don’t you think there is other life forms in the universe? Some of which are more advanced than ours and capable of visiting our planet several times
    without ever doing anything to interfer with our own growth or species.

    the universe is very huge. The chances of us being alone in the universe is very slim there could be millions of other beings more advanced than us and those beings could even be spiritual.

    I dont know if you ever checked this out but goggle truthism.com and read on there a lil bit.

    Now i dont believe all there points they make but some are very good and they have a strong argument on the existence of aliens and thier visitation to earth.

    For me I am a spiritual person because of several things. And no matter what i will remain that way.

    I do believe in God and Jesus, Yet i don tell everyone they are wrong when i encounter a nonbeliever. I speak a lil on what i know and continue my journey in life.

    As for you, your the kind of person that needs pure proof. Well if you completly study the bilbe there are several prophecies fullfilled even in modern day. Just ry and goglle some of it and also ther eis a book called the third melinium and the melinium series a total of three books now the books or religous bu also fictional stories bu in the back of the books are some great points and explaination of some modern day prophecies which have been fullfilled even to this day.

    I recomend you don’t stop your search for truth but also allow a lil bit of faith in as well. Not all things can be proven even some cases in history such amelia airheart’s disappearance we have no real proof she is dead this can go on and on.

    So my friend please don’t stop your search and keep me posted on what you find as i will you.

    my aim name is TornPimp you can reach me from there.

    Peace man and good luck on your search.

  4. thewordofme says:

    Hi again Traith, thanks for your reply.

    Yes, I truly hope, and can very easily accept, that there is a real possibility of life on other planets in our tremendous universe. I follow closely the astronomers that are finding new planets in other star systems now. I am mesmerized by this knowledge. I think it is one of the biggest discoveries of humankind.

    Yes some worlds could be more advanced than us, and just as likely, some can be less evolved. Space and time are very closely related and the distances involved in space travel is pretty daunting. Going to take some science knowledge that we haven’t been able to tap into so far…and we don’t know if it’s even out there.

    So yes, I believe it’s possible, but I haven’t seen any evidence so far. Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence as Carl Sagan said. Or was it Arthur C. Clark? 🙂

    I guess it’s a personality defect or something, but I cannot “just believe” something. A belief as big and as important as religion really needs something to convince me it’s true. People have of course pointed me to the Bible, but I start reading the book and I stumble across so many things that my common sense tells me is wrong…I have to stop. I run across so many conflicting verses and stuff I *know* is wrong.

    So do you just don’t think about the conflicts, or do you somehow think there are none? Can you hold it in your mind that the Bible says one thing and science or common sense says another?

    You say: “Well if you completely study the bible there are several prophecies fulfilled even in modern day.”

    OK here’s one” Isaiah 17:1-2 … “ Behold, Damascus will cease from being a city, And it will be a ruinous heap. The cities of Aroer are forsaken; They will be for flocks.

    Damascus still stands 2800 years after this prophecy. The city of Aroer was still standing in the time of Eusebius…1100 years after Isaiah’s prophecy.

    I mean how do you discern what is true, and what is not, in a book that is filled with discrepancies?

    I continually write on this blog about my journey, and I truly consider it as such.

    Peace to you and have a great year.

  5. TRAITH says:

    Well man i do see where you can get the conflicts from and yes i get them to i stumple across some things that i know are impossible or maybe very hard to take.

    yet i look at the other side as well maybe i am misinterpreting it or maybe something has been left out when they translated it out etc. etc.

    for the city of damascus does still stand but you got to remember the time isnt over yet and have you noticed this attack in Gaza here lately that could lead into something more you never know.

    But yes i find the conflicts too but its not that i ignore them or dont pay attn. to them i try to understand what i can pray about it or even research it some. But i know that there are things in the bible left out and not all is translated right (MAN MAKES MISTAKES and allways seems to screw something up)

    The main reason i believe in GOD and Jesus is the way i feel inside. I know there is more to life and even death. and i have allways felt this way. But also i had a experience as well (after i found my belief of course) or maybe i had such experiences all along just never as deep.

    But anyway I seen somethings just as real as i would look at myself in a mirror. They were Evil and i cant put ti more plain than that my experience as a long story to it and i may put it up on a thread here and notify you when i do. but what i saw has had a extreme affect on my life nad the way i look at the spiritual realm. I dont believe that there is spirits I know but thats my evidence I saw so thats a great proof but not everyone gets that proof.

    Now keep in mind I am not trying to change your beliefs on this you will think what you want and i am not looking for attn. So what i just told is the GODS honest truth I have no reason to lie.

    So you see my faith is more than a faith now and even after i seen what i seen i still struggle with belief in some things in the Bible but i keep studying and i know i will find the answers to my questions but i will never stop believing that God and jesus are real and there is a greater force behind this all.

    I just cant stand back and believe also what some scienctist say that we all evolved and all this happned by mere chance there is more to than all that .

    But whatever the case may be about my experience whether or not i was trippin or having some kind of breakdown it was very real and i cannot truely explain it in words. It was truely a life changing thing.

    I hope you find your proof it would really change the entire world if so.

    I’ll stay in touch PEACE!!!!!!!!!!

  6. cstrupp says:

    the whole U.F.O thing is a mixed thing because there’s so much vagueness between the undercover fling stuff the government has access to, and the whole spirit realm thing. Angels still exsist and can appear, but the whole U.F.O thing is better not being investigated, because even so called truth that has been supposedly confirmed can be equally disproved. If aliens and stuff are real there’s only 2 options, they are either demonic or something else.

    thanks for your time

  7. Kevin McCabe says:

    (free gift offer at bottom!)

    You said, “God only has to give one sign…show up in person to the world, or do something that is undeniably supernatural that the world sees”

    This He has done in the person of Jesus. And Jesus did so many supernatural things, that the bible admits to not being able to contain it all.

    So, you must decide if that really happened or not.

    Since you are human and cannot be everywhere at every time, sooner or later, your search for truth is going to have to rely on people and their stories.

    You must then decide who is credible and who is not, just like any judge in a courtroom.

    Pilate said to Jesus: What is truth?

    Jesus said in John 14:6 I am the way, the truth, and the life. No man comes to the Father except by me.

    For the time being, forget about Leviticus, or other books of the bible, and pore over the Gospels. Study Jesus and ask Him to reveal Himself to you.

    I was raised in “Christian” churches that did not believe Mark 16:17-18 where Jesus said

    “And these signs will follow those who believe: In My name they will cast out demons; they will speak with new tongues; they will take up serpents; and if they drink anything deadly, it will by no means hurt them; they will lay hands on the sick, and they will recover.”

    I was taught those verses were not part of the original text, or if they were, they certainly had no bearing on today’s Christians.

    I now know that Jesus spoke the truth, because once I began to believe what Jesus said, not just what this denomination or that one teaches, but what the bible says He said, I began to experience the truth of it!

    I can talk to you at length about laying hands on the sick and having them recover. We have personally experienced miracles through our own prayers and hands using the name of Jesus. Chron’s disease cured, broken bones healed, fevers and headaches vanquished, jock itch, athlete’s foot, hives, rotator cuff, hearing problems, and that just in my own family, praise God! Then there’s carpal tunnel, injured ankles, shoulders, bad knees, sore tail bone and smoker’s lungs all healed.

    Let me tell you, I went from thinking the devil was just a myth we could use to explain evil, (you know, a face we could hang it all on, so to speak) to wondering if there were such things as demons or evil spirits, to actually fulfilling Jesus’ prophecy of casting out demons in His name!

    My wife and I asked God to show us if these things were as real today as we read in the bible. Boy, did He! We prayed that very prayer on the eve of Thanksgiving in 2006, and that very night we had the blinders taken off. Our lives have forever been changed as we personally witnessed demons speaking to us out of a woman who was under their influence and we also witnessed their dismissal at the name of Jesus Christ. It was a 3 and a half hour experience that revealed much to us about the unseen spirit world. I cannot detail it all here, but would gladly recount my experience with you via phone or email if you are so inclined. One of these days, I will get the story on the net, and be able to just provide a link to a typed or audio testimony, instead of flooding someone’s blog comments! (sorry…)

    There have been other spirits cast out since.

    I know you don’t know me, nor do I expect you to simply accept my experience as truth. Hey, 3 years ago (even as a Christian), I wouldn’t have accepted the testimony of someone who told me everything I have experienced these last few years! (miracles, prophetic dreams, healing the sick, casting out demons, answered prayers off the charts!)

    As I stated earlier, you have to decide who is credible. Of course, I can tell you that I am credible, by saying I am a retired US Air Force officer with a high-level security clearance, a professional Oracle database consultant for 9 years, reputable in the community, a dedicated husband for 23 years and I can provide references, etc. But, I realize those are just words on a page.

    I do have to go on record saying Jesus is who He claimed to be, and not only is He the Son of God, but everything He has prophesied about those who would believe in Him and call Him Lord is true, and we are living proof.

    To your credit, you talk about God more than most Christians! I say this to their shame. Too many Christians give Christ a bad name. If I had to judge if God was true based on the majority of people who take the name of Christ, I would honestly be hard-pressed to join their ranks. Sadly, their are probably more skeptics in the church than out. I know: I was one of them.

    For the most part, the majority of churches in America are lame spiritually for 3 reasons: 1. they have not sold out to God, 2. even they do not believe everything Jesus spoke, 3. they have not taken Him up on His offer to give His Spirit to anyone who would ask. It is this 3rd point which actually enables the other two. Luke 11:9-13 has proved pivotal in our lives.

    Jesus: “So I say to you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened. If a son asks for bread from any father among you, will he give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent instead of a fish? Or if he asks for an egg, will he offer him a scorpion?

    If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him!”

    My wife and I have been Christians for over 20 years, but only after being shown this promise and calling God on it, have we seen God and His Spirit come alive in and around us in so many ways! Additionally, what used to look like obvious contradictions in the bible are now seen in a new light where they can peacefully coexist, like seeing 2 different sides of the same coin. It is amazing.

    Another prophecy Jesus gave concerning believers goes dormant in too many churches:

    John 14:12 “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father. ”

    The early church described in the book of Acts demonstrated this truth.

    I really believe that you if you meet someone who really models Jesus–especially the miraculous–you will give Jesus and His works and words another look. These people exist.

    If I make the claim that wood is combustible, someone might walk up to a pile of wood and say, “If you really are combustible, start burning.” After numerous futile attempts, he walks away, concluding that wood does not burn.

    In your blog, you put the burden on God to do something: “God only has to give one sign…”

    He has done this and much more. Now it is your turn. Strike the match, and watch the wood more than burn.

    Romans 10:9-13 if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart one believes unto righteousness, and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. For the Scripture says, “WHOEVER BELIEVES ON HIM WILL NOT BE PUT TO SHAME.” For there is no distinction between Jew and Greek, for the same Lord over all

    is rich to all who call upon Him.

    For “WHOEVER CALLS ON THE NAME OF THE LORD SHALL BE SAVED.”

    Your blog software has my email address. Feel free to correspond if you would like to hear my experiences. If you are ever in the San Antonio, TX area, look me up for a free lunch or dinner. Would love to meet you. I am serious.

  8. thewordofme says:

    Hi Mr. McCabe, thanks for writing.

    Sir, I really appreciate your thoughtful reply to my post and welcome your friendship. However you might want to read some of my other posts on this site as I am a very strong atheist. I’m friendly though, and love to argue…in a nice way.

    Below you can find some stuff from another of my posts that tell you where my head is orientated. I tend to believe science and research what I write about pretty thoroughly.

    “Many people– then and now– have assumed that these letters [of Paul] are genuine, and five of them were in fact incorporated into the New Testament as “letters of Paul.” Even today, scholars dispute which are authentic and which are not. Most scholars, however, agree that Paul actually wrote only eight of the thirteen “Pauline” letters now included in the New Testament collection: Romans, 1 and 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Philippians, 1 Thessalonians, and Philemon. Virtually all scholars agree that Paul himself did *not* write 1 or 2 Timothy or Titus– letters written in a style different from Paul’s and reflecting situations and viewpoints in a style different from those in Paul’s own letters. About the authorship of Ephesians, Colossians, and 2 Thessalonians, debate continues; but the majority of scholars include these, too, among the “deutero-Pauline”– literally, secondarily Pauline– letters.”
    Elaine Pagels, Professor of Religion at Princeton University

    “All four gospels are anonymous texts. The familiar attributions of the Gospels to Matthew, Mark, Luke and John come from the mid-second century and later and we have no good historical reason to accept these attributions.”
    Steve Mason, professor of religious studies, York University in Toronto

    “The question must also be raised as to whether we have the actual words of Jesus in any Gospel.” Retired- Bishop John Shelby Spong

    “Enterprising spirits responded to this natural craving by pretended gospels full of romantic fables, and fantastic and striking details; their fabrications were eagerly read and accepted as true by common folk who were devoid of any critical faculty and who were predisposed to believe what so luxuriously fed their pious curiosity. Both Catholics and Gnostics were concerned in writing these fictions. The former had no motive other than that of a Pious Fraud.” Catholic Encyclopedia

    There is not the slightest bit of physical evidence that supports a historical Jesus; there are no artifacts or dwellings, no works of carpentry, no written manuscripts (by Jesus), nothing. All we have are writings from other people and there is no contemporary recording of the man/God nothing written while he was alive. All documents about Jesus came well after his supposed life on earth from people who had never even met him, from unknown authors, or from fraudulent mythical /allegorical writings. There are no Roman Records that show Pontius Pilate executed a man named Jesus.

    “The gospels are all priestly forgeries over a century after their pretended dates.” Those who concocted some of the hundreds of “alternative” gospels and epistles that were being kicked about during the first several centuries C.E. have even admitted that they had forged the documents” Joseph Wheless, “Forgery in Christianity”

    If you can put up with what I write then let me know and I will reply to your post to me in detail.

    Peace to you
    twom

Leave a Reply

