God Watches Over Us

Such a loving God watching over us.

“The God that holds you over the pit of hell, much as one holds a spider, or some loathsome insect over the fire, abhors you, and is dreadfully provoked; his wrath towards you burns like a fire; he looks upon you as worthy of nothing else but to be cast into the fire; he is of purer eyes than to bear to have you in his sight; you are ten thousand times so abominable in his eyes as the most hateful venomous serpent is in ours.” Jonathan Edwards, “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God,” preached in his home church… Northampton, Massachusetts in 1741

And out of his mouth proceedeth a sharp sword, that with it he should smite the nations: and he shall rule them with a rod of iron: and he treadeth the winepress of the fierceness of the wrath of God, the Almighty. Revelation 19:15

“Therefore will I also deal in fury: mine eye shall not spare, neither will I have pity; and though they cry in mine ears with a loud voice, yet I will not hear them.” Ezekiel. 8:18

“I will tread them in mine anger, and will trample them in my fury, and their blood shall be sprinkled upon my garments, and I will stain all my raiment.” Isa. 63:3

“And the people shall be as the burnings of lime, as thorns cut up shall they be burnt in the fire. Hear ye that are far off, what I have done; and ye that are near, acknowledge my might. The sinners in Zion are afraid; fearfulness hath surprised the hypocrites,” Isa. 33:12-14.

“And it shall come to pass, that from one new moon to another, and from one sabbath to another, shall all flesh come to worship before me, saith the Lord. And they shall go forth and look upon the carcasses of the men that have transgressed against me; for their worm shall not die, neither shall their fire be quenched, and they shall be an abhorring unto all flesh.” Isa. 66:23, 24

And here I thought we had a loving God looking after us.  🙂

About the word of me
Interested in family and friends,grandchildren, photography, darkrooms, history, archaeology, scuba diving, computers, software, fast cars, journalism, writing, travel, ecology, news, science, and probably most other subjects you could think of. Did I mention family and friends?? I require iced tea or cold brewed coffee and a internet connection to be fully functional. Sometimes there are just so many words in my head they spill out.

8 Responses to God Watches Over Us

  1. Isaac says:

    Well, this will be the last page I read. I was hoping for much more. It started off well but the quality really deteriorated. I have a serious suggestion and this comes from someone who knows. Before you embarrass yourself any more may I recommend that you take several courses in basic Biblical interpretation. I can assure you that reading the Bible like this is wrong. It is like taking Shakespeare and pulling a verse here and a verse there and then saying: “Oh Shakespeare said that we are all gay.” What? That is what you are doing. You can’t do that. Let me give you an example. Did you hear of the law of “an eye for an eye”? What does it mean? I will let you figure it out but it does not mean that if someone pokes your eye then you can poke his eye out. That is what a nut would think. Now, let me give you another example. You have heard the phrase “Vanity of vanites all is vanity.” Now, what do you think it means? Again, I will let you find out but again, it does not mean that everything is in vain. In one of your previous posts you mentioned women and their “quasi slavery”. Are you aware that they were not even cursed in the book of Genesis? Are you aware that there are at least 4 different writers? Do you know what a myth is? Do you know what Eden means? What is the first letter in the Bible and why is it the first letter? What is the significance of King Josiah and Jeremiah with respect to Deuteronomy? What stories in the Bible are meant to simple teach a lesson and are really not telling us about a real event? How many times is the same story told by different writers and why and which one is correct?
    Now, this is just the tip of the ice berg (10%). I do not know anything about the Christian scriptures so you will have to see what you can do about that. But, once you spend about 10 years learning about the Hebrew scriptures then you will be able to discuss the text in an intelligent fashion and I can assure you that you will be erasing most of the material that you have here. As I said, this is my last reading of your blog and last visit. If you need any further guidance then feel free to contact me. Remember that an atheist is someone who is looking for an answer. Keep looking for the truth in stead of looking to deny it. All the best. And do not allow yourself to be indoctrinated.

  2. thewordofme says:

    Hi again Isaac,

    Should I even take the time to answer all your replies? You left no contact info for me to get your “guidance”

  3. Q says:

    So, unless you are a scholar studying ancient text for 10 years, you will not be able to understand God and religion? The fact that you have to go to great lengths to “properly” read the bible and to “interpret” and “analyze” it in order to follow him to me is ridiculous.

    How do you inform the masses and the ignorant of such a great, divine, spiritual thing?

    Regrettably, Mr. Isaac won’t be hear to reply to any follow up rebuttles making him temporarily immortal and infallible, but my purpose of this is merely to provide the counter argument.

    I despise improper methods of giving information.

  4. Julianna says:

    You’re stupid.

  5. thewordofme says:

    Hi Julianna, thanks for writing.

    If you believe in a magical spirit floating around in the sky…you’re confused.

  6. Rev. M.E. Bowen says:

    I think the ‘word of’ ME says it all . . .

  7. thewordofme says:

    Hi Rev,

    Well someone has to speak up. 🙂

  8. Justin says:

    This is going to be my last comment. I am getting pretty anoyed with Dave, making up stuff.

    If God was not angry sometimes, then would not we do anything? I would proberly kill a few people, rape a few women and masterbate in your face, if God does not discipline us.

    Plus, God would not be righteous, if he did not discipline us. Read Hebrews 12, it deals with discipline and Atheism.

    Why do you twist the Bible? In all the passages you put in this article, they all say about God’s wrath and awesome power. Then you twist it by saying that God is evil because he has power. To me this is lying.

    Before I go after days on end of debating you guys. I’ll say one more thing.

    2Timothy 3
    1This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.

    2For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,

    3Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,

    4Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;

    5Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.

    6For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts,

    7Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.

    8Now as Jannes and Jambres withstood Moses, so do these also resist the truth: men of corrupt minds, reprobate concerning the faith.

    9But they shall proceed no further: for their folly shall be manifest unto all men, as their’s also was.

    10But thou hast fully known my doctrine, manner of life, purpose, faith, longsuffering, charity, patience,

    11Persecutions, afflictions, which came unto me at Antioch, at Iconium, at Lystra; what persecutions I endured: but out of them all the Lord delivered me.

    12Yea, and all that will live godly in Christ Jesus shall suffer persecution.

    13But evil men and seducers shall wax worse and worse, deceiving, and being deceived.

    14But continue thou in the things which thou hast learned and hast been assured of, knowing of whom thou hast learned them;

    15And that from a child thou hast known the holy scriptures, which are able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.

    16All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

    17That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.

    Amen.

Leave a Reply

