????

funny pictures of cats with captions
see more Lolcats and funny pictures

About the word of me
Interested in family and friends,grandchildren, photography, darkrooms, history, archaeology, scuba diving, computers, software, fast cars, journalism, writing, travel, ecology, news, science, and probably most other subjects you could think of. Did I mention family and friends?? I require iced tea or cold brewed coffee and a internet connection to be fully functional. Sometimes there are just so many words in my head they spill out.

11 Responses to ????

  1. Plankton says:

    I’m lost for a comment on this one 🙂

  2. thewordofme says:

    Same problem I’m having…no words. 🙂

  3. LOL – I am here to save you from this problem. Once I post you will instantly have the ability to fire of pithy retorts effortless in your zeal to right all the wrongs of my church;>)

    To begin –
    The church has 3,000+ cases which it has resolved over a 60 year period. Clericalism, cowardice, fideism about psychotherapy’s ability to “fix” sexual predators—all played their roles in the recycling of abusers into ministry and in the failure of bishops to come to grips with a massive breakdown of conviction and discipline in the post-Vatican II years. There isn’t any doubt about it.

    However I don’t see your zeal spilling over for the media’s lack of effort to place the spot light on the US gov’t institutions which are anywhere from 4 to 100 times worse then the church. That is correct 100 TIMES worse! And if we performed a survey of the number of posts you have railed(justly in some case) against my church, one would expect something along the order of 10 to 50 times more complaints against the US gov’t for their sexual abuse actions.

    Yet I don’t think that is the case.

    The public school system has some 290,000 between 1991 and 2000 in this country. I have no idea what the total numbers are currently but the sexual misconduct as of 2004 was no better then in the 90s.
    http://www2.ed.gov/rschst…conductreview/report.pdf

    Yet the image of the public school employee is far better then a Catholic priest. Both are worth of our respect, but neither are worth of the trust of our children.

    The facts are that randomly your 4 times safer with leaving your child with a Catholic priest then someone that works for the public school system. And another difference is the church wouldn’t allow you to leave your child with the priest any more.

    http://www.heartland.org/…t_in_Public_Schools.html

    An attorney for the U.S. Army argued in court on Thursday that Army officials have no legal duty to report child abuse to civilian authorities.
    http://www.kitv.com/news/22960722/detail.html

    And in the juve prison system and sexual abuse in the family its a wonder how any child makes it to adulthood without being abused.

    http://blogs.nybooks.com/post/321666354/the-crisis-of-juvenile-prison-rape-a-new-report

    http://www.dallasnews.com/sharedcontent/dws/dn/latestnews/stories/030707dnpronutyc.39129f4.html

    AH but this is the gov’t and they are here to help all of us. They represent us and they are raping our child at a much higher rate then the Catholic church ever did on a global scale.

    Yet I don’t see the outrage and the gov’t has convincingly eliminated the limits on sexual abuse against the Catholic church which is certainly fair, but they interestingly didn’t do so for themselves.

    So perhaps you should check our the cesspool in our own countries gov’t with HUNDREDS of THOUSANDS of kids rather then the 3,000 which will likely grow to 5,000 globally that my church inflicted.

    When you start to provide proportional outrage where it belongs I’ll listen to your objects.

    Note I’m not upset in you point out the obvious in the lack of protection my church afforded the innocent children, but your seeming inability to see the larger problem in the country, in your state, in your city and yes likely inn your neighborhood.

  4. thewordofme says:

    Qboa, how nice to ‘see’ you again, I hope you are well. 🙂

    I rail against your church Qboa, not you. I know that that may seem as bad as attacking you personally, but it’s not meant that way. Remember that I am basically against all churches. The next blog post down from the one you commented on is railing against Islam and their evil ways in regard to women…that religion needs to be shut down, just as the Catholic one needs to be.

    One thing I would want to point out to you is that it is my opinion that the church has covered up pedophilia for probably two thousand years, and in every nook and cranny it has operated in. I suspect that the number of innocent children that have been victimized is in the millions.

    I am not some whiny wimp about the thing…I know human nature and I know what goes on in societies all over the world and in different time-lines. Humans are sexual animals and a certain type of person will always take this to the extreme and prey on those who are weak or powerless…which is a very good description of the children who were raped. And the Catholic Church and its minions are so very powerful.

    Not being a member of the Catholic Church, I don’t know particular details about the priestly process, but don’t newly minted ‘fathers’ take vows and wouldn’t these vows be a prayerful process where ‘God’ is invoked and invited to participate in the making of this servant of His? I would imagine that not raping little kids is not mentioned specifically in the vows, but wouldn’t there be something in there about watching over and protecting the morals of his charges as he moves into his assignment, or diocese, or whatever?

    And wouldn’t his vows be kind of like a legal contract with God? I would think that ‘God’ would pay ‘special’ attention to these powerful servants of His, because we all know that ‘God’ notices even the sparrow falling, and we also know that ‘God’ sees a man’s heart…What do you suppose went wrong here?

    Did you ever notice that if something is denied to you, it becomes infinitely more desirable?

    Isn’t sex the strongest drive or impulse that humans have? Umm, all those nice young bodies and body ‘parts’ just inches away.

    So anyway here’s this nice young priest with all those human hormones flowing, and young bodies all around his territory and here’s this covenant he made with ‘God’, and the poor sap goes and rapes one of his charges… What is up with that??? Does he think ‘God’ won’t notice? Or does he know something?

    Do Catholic seminaries teach the same things that protestant ones do? Because if they do, I know what’s in their minds. Just about everything most ‘civilians’ think they know about their religion is wrong.

    Just because ‘everyone’ does it is not an excuse to ‘sin’ yourself.

    The Catholic Church has handled this crisis absolutely wrong and I predict it will get much worse before it gets better. I wonder how effectively it will handle its obligations in the future.

    Another thing that needs to be addressed is that the CC has lost all credibility and any moral authority it had left after the US debacle is now gone…and you know what…this is another sign that religion is false, that there is NO ‘God.’ The “MOTHER CHURCH”, the one picked by ‘God’ to further his plan on earth is fatally flawed…just like the Muslim’s.

    You write: “LOL – I am here to save you from this problem. Once I post you will instantly have the ability to fire of pithy retorts effortless in your zeal to right all the wrongs of my church;>)”

    Yes, thank you. This did loosen up a mighty flow of words. Of course I don’t believe I can right any wrongs in your church. I wish the wrongs had never happened. I have friends in the church and I despair when I think of what they are going through.

    I hope you don’t hate me too much for what I had to say…

    twom

  5. TWOM,

    No I don’t hate you. I thought that was clear from my post. I hate that you haven’t taken aim at your gov’t for the same manifold crimes only magnified 10 times over. Indeed if you don’t I’d say its simply to condone it as a secular gov’t and not a religious one. I hope that’s not the case.

    As I indicated the cases still coming forth are from anywhere 15 to 50 years ago. I want full disclosure and a clean house. Brazil has the largest population of Catholic int he world so I suspect that given there was only one priest per 15,000 Catholics and much in rural areas that those crimes haven’t come to light yet. Don’t you find it curious that the overwhelming majority of these cases came about during the start of the “sexual revolution”?

    This pope has sped up the process to disclose and convict those abused and most large institutions have taken the program designed by the church to prevent sexual abuse how and in the future. Priests go through background checks 6 times a year now. And if they sponsor a Boy Scout or Girl scout organization they go through another one. Every volunteer goes through one annually and all teachers and children are briefed yearly.

    The irony in all this is that “boy love” was acceptable in secular roman and Greek societies encouraged in fact. It was the church which over a few hundred year rid the society of this behavior. Which is why the gay community hates the institution so much. Many of them being shunned by the society at large in the 60’s entered the church in hopes that they could be cured of their gayness. That apparently isn’t very likely and they and their gay bishop supports created much of this mess.

    In regards to the priests who committed these crimes they will pay the price in the life to come if they don’t in this one.

    And the final irony will be when the secular society in 20 years permits this behavior as legal with the advances of the LGBT lobby. Hopefully the line will be drawn at age 12, but given the way our society is devolving I wouldn’t bet on it.

  6. thewordofme says:

    Hi Qboa,

    I would hope the line is drawn at 18 not 12. I personally don’t agree with the LGBT lobby, but I do see the time when the behavior is more or less accepted.

  7. Well perhaps you can explain it to me.

    Its likely that the LGBT lobby will be affective in getting the laws and/or courts to change and make gay marriage acceptable in this country. I would guess 10 years or less. As part of that the underpinning is mutual consent. So the only limitation is when that occurs.

    The NY Times supports all this.

    Now the majority of cases involved in the Catholic church (60%) are priests with boys ages 13 to 18 which is what NAMBLA and the the LGBT community will work to overturn. 30% involve girls 13 to 18 and 10% boys under 12.

    So in 20 years when my church will be fighting against this practice it will be acceptable by society and by the newspaper and other media and they will in turn be attacking the church for not being accepting of it, but today is attacking it for not doing enough to prevent it 40 years ago when no institution was going anything.

    Is that a disconnect or what?

  8. thewordofme says:

    The people are fickle.

  9. Ok then let me ask this.

    If society choose to make sex acts btwn men and boys (13 to 18 year olds with age 30 something men) acceptable/legal in 20 years will you still be outraged?

  10. thewordofme says:

    I don’t think that in America we will see sex between males under age 18 legalized…or at least I fervently hope not. I am actually kind if conservative in matters of sex, that’s probably what bothers me so much about the CC scandal.

  11. Well when one considers that its likely that Gay marriage will be legal nation wide within the coming years, you will have the next generation coming up with that understanding. Note currently we have a number of cases where female teachers have had sex with underage males and females and they appeals have been for little or not time in prison. Its a “natural” progression that it will become legal.

    Once the moral aspect that religion provides is removed there isn’t any “just” reason to deny these people if they mutually desire it.

    We’ll see I guess.

Leave a Reply

