South Dakota Legislators Ponder Legalizing Murder

South Dakota is contemplating a law that would legalize the killing of abortion doctors, providers, or enablers.  Here

“The law that would legalize killing abortion providers is just one of several measures under consideration in the state that would create more obstacles for a woman seeking an abortion. Another proposed law, House Bill 1217, would force women to undergo counseling at a Crisis Pregnancy Center (CPC) before they can obtain an abortion. CPCs are not regulated and are generally run by anti-abortion Christian groups and staffed by volunteers—not doctors or nurses—with the goal of discouraging women from having abortions.”   (My emphasis)

Of course this outrageous and plainly crazy attempt to stop abortion is from the religious right and the Republican Party (who are actually controlled by the religious right).  The Republican Party is just batspit crazy anymore…all of them.  I am ashamed to admit that I voted it for over 40 years. They are driving our country into the ground and blaming it on the Democrats.

They would rather spend trillions of dollars (nearly bankrupting us) on an un-winnable war than assist our own citizens and help the poor and elderly (a thing that Jesus was explicitly for).  They don’t care about our children’s education…they are the first to cut funding to schools and research, but totally fund all war efforts and all the illegal no-bid contracts that is making multi-billionaires of a few favored political contributors (think Halliburton and the like).

What totally bewilders me is how they are able to make the average Joe believe that it’s in HIS own best interest to not support healthcare…in essence to keep the heavy contributors to republican political campaigns (HMO’s, PPA’s) as middle men and allow them to suck up billions of dollars from OUR pockets and return only mediocre or inferior service.

Look up where America stands in healthcare, infant mortality, delivery of services, etc., Look up where we stand in services to the handicapped, the impaired, elderly care, education of our youngsters.  We should all be ashamed.  And for God’s sake keep the government out of women’s decisions on motherhood…this is not a proper place for government to be.
.
funny pictures of cats with captions
see more Lolcats and funny pictures

About the word of me
Interested in family and friends,grandchildren, photography, darkrooms, history, archaeology, scuba diving, computers, software, fast cars, journalism, writing, travel, ecology, news, science, and probably most other subjects you could think of. Did I mention family and friends?? I require iced tea or cold brewed coffee and a internet connection to be fully functional. Sometimes there are just so many words in my head they spill out.

3 Responses to South Dakota Legislators Ponder Legalizing Murder

  1. Ccredential says:

    Yes that is crazy and disgusting. But do you have proof that ALL Christians, Republicans and or Conservatives think like this and are exactly how you described them? What you said was kind of irresponsible. I can understand if you have certain hard feelings towards people on the right but you should at least not that influence your objectivity.

    Liberals do some crazy stuff too. Berkeley, CA City Council proposed a bill that would set aside funds for city employees to get sex changes. That is borderline insanity. They are trying to be so “progressive,” “open minded,” that their brains have fallen out. Nevermind the streets that need fixing or the other problems in our city, let’s focus on sex changes to show the world how far we’ve progressed. Silly!

    Okay, now back to polite conversation. You say that they don’t care about the poor or elderly and seem to imply that they are only for the rich. But if Republicans are the party of the rich than why are the most of the richest zip codes in the country, colored blue?

    Also, the most charitable people in the world are in the lower class. The rich give the least (percentage). And the left give the least. They proclaim they care about the poor until it actually requires giving (resources or time).

    http://abcnews.go.com/2020/story?id=2682730&page=1

    http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/f-news/1759256/posts

    I lived in Aspen, CO for 4 yrs and live near it now. An obviously wealthy community and extremely liberal. They will give to the arts, the environment and other things but won’t help the poor. Homeless people get run out of there real quick. They also don’t give a crap about the workers in the community. I realize that this is just one example and cannot be translated onto all liberals.

    I feel that no matter what, those on the right will always be treated with contempt because some on the left don’t want to see otherwise.

    Let me ask you this. Do you believe that the world would be a better place if everyone thought like you? Or at least had your politics? I believe that about me. SO, if you do, then one would assume that you DO want the world to be a “better place.” Then how would you get others to adopt your views? By being pompous and crass to show your superiority? Not implying you do this. I want people to think like me so I talk to them with respect, show graciousness and love them. I reason with them explaining why I believe what I do, hoping they will concur. If I am only interested in showing off my knowledge to puff myself up. Then I really don’t care about the world but rather just myself. We are in serious times and IF we want the world to change we have to be humble and willing to get dirty.

    Those same people in Aspen and other places who say they care about the poor are the same ones putting people down and viewing others as less than human. That is not “care.”

    So, I will put my charity and volunteer hours up against anybody’s. But I do it because I want to do it not because it will make me appear progressed.

    Thanks man, or woman, not sure who you are.

  2. the word of me says:

    Hello Ccredential, thanks for your thoughtful reply.

    You write:
    “Yes that is crazy and disgusting. But do you have proof that ALL Christians, Republicans and or Conservatives think like this and are exactly how you described them? What you said was kind of irresponsible. I can understand if you have certain hard feelings towards people on the right but you should at least not that influence your objectivity.”

    Of course not all Christians, Republicans, and conservative think alike and I am aware of this, but enough of them are in leadership positions to be able to influence people and lawmaking. Republicans and religious fundamentalists have been trying for years and years to stop legal abortions and send women back to the dark-ages. Most of them I have had occasion to talk to or correspond with even want to deny abortion to women in cases of rape and incest. They believe that the church and government has the moral right to forcefully deny abortion in all cases. Just because someone makes a law doesn’t make that law right.

    Too many people believe that women are second class citizens and unable to think and act for themselves, and waaay too many want to control everything they do. As much as the churches want to believe that they still have a Dark Ages type of control over mankind and womankind. A woman controls her own body…neither you nor anybody else has the right to say what she can do with it. People who make laws to control a woman’s body are evil and should not be in positions of power.

    I totally agree with you on the Berkeley city councils stupidity. You have to remember its California and they have always been crazy. Probably more liberals in Berkeley than the whole state. 🙂

    You write:
    “Okay, now back to polite conversation. You say that they don’t care about the poor or elderly and seem to imply that they are only for the rich. But if Republicans are the party of the rich than why are the most of the richest zip codes in the country, colored blue?”

    Why were the Republicans so insistent on making sure that come hell or high water they were going to keep those tax breaks for the super rich. Why do the Republicans want to keep the HMOs and PPOs in the money loop and sink health care? Do you know what the average salary of a HMO chief executive is? Do you know how much they contribute to political campaigns? The health care industry in America is one of the worst on earth…if you have money you’re OK…if not–you’re screwed.

    You write:
    “Also, the most charitable people in the world are in the lower class. The rich give the least (percentage). And the left give the least. They proclaim they care about the poor until it actually requires giving (resources or time).”

    I suppose there are good and bad people in just about every division of society. I personally am in the lower bracket, but I try my best to be generous and helping to those in worse straights.

    You write:
    “I feel that no matter what, those on the right will always be treated with contempt because some on the left don’t want to see otherwise.”

    I was on the right for many years and it finally got to the point that I could not continence what was going on and direction it was going.

    You write:
    “Let me ask you this. Do you believe that the world would be a better place if everyone thought like you? Or at least had your politics? I believe that about me. SO, if you do, then one would assume that you DO want the world to be a “better place.” Then how would you get others to adopt your views? By being pompous and crass to show your superiority? Not implying you do this.”

    I have no illusions or expectations that the world would be better if it thought like I do…I have my share of craziness, however there are certain things that are going on that’s just wrong and needs to be called out. My voice is small, but I care deeply about what I write, and I put it out there. And I call a spade a spade. If people are doing crazy evil stuff that’s what I call it.

    You write:
    “I want people to think like me so I talk to them with respect, show graciousness and love them. I reason with them explaining why I believe what I do, hoping they will concur. If I am only interested in showing off my knowledge to puff myself up. Then I really don’t care about the world but rather just myself. We are in serious times and IF we want the world to change we have to be humble and willing to get dirty.”

    I don’t believe that a person that tries to lord it over other people (by making stupid laws that take away human rights) deserves respect or love…they need to be shown how bad and evil their actions are. It is the legislators who are trying to make the world as they think it should be…and they don’t seem to care who they roll over and squash.

    By the way I am male; sorry if there was confusion.

  3. Ccredential says:

    Hey, no I just didn’t read your bio before I posted so i wasnt sure if you were male or female.

    How does the right want to bring women back to the stone ages? Just because we don’t believe in abortion? The Christians i know treat their wives better than any noner. We believe that a wife is a great thing and should be honored and adored. Some bad apples out there though (just like any group).

    Did we talk in another thread? I was in my dashboard and saw a link suggestion or something and it brought me here. I remember talking about planned parenthood and stuff with someone, might have been in one of your blogs.

    Republicans might just think that not taxing the rich so high is just fair. They alredy pay over 40% of our taxes. Plus they say that the money trickles down. Who knows if it actually does but makes sense. Poor people arent out there creating jobs.

    You must think that the world would be better somehow if they thought more like you because you passionately protest SOME people with opposing views. So logicaly it would mean that your view is better.

    I just think that it is the way in which we teach people our view that is important. There is a saying I like: People don’t care how much you know, until they KNOW how much you care.

    My personal view is that Christian should stay out of politics. Maybe vote but that is it. I feel it is a distraction from the real message. Besides, if we were getting our message out, the people’s politics would change too. Some are trying to change the government and it is better to change the people.

    Laws are a reflection of the society. Change society and its laws change as well.

    I just think you believe that repubs are for most part bad if not evil. It seems like there is so much anger and resentment, I just don’t know where it is coming from. If you really want to help, then be nice in your approach and try to discuss the issues on their merits, in a cordial way. You are being polite to me right now, and I feel that if we met somewhere we could probably have a civil converstation and part in peace. But your tone in your blog(s) is way different. It turns people off or puts them on the defensive OR offensive.

    I try to state my opinion and then let people comment. I find that it is much more peaceful AND rewarding because we are not letting egos get in the way. The prob with that is it may not be as entertaining. But that is not what it is about. I am sure you and I know a lot of things. But if we are just interested in showing them off we show that we don’t know the first thing about teaching. Being respectful and nice.

    Well, I hope i answered enough. Not sure where this takes us now.

    ps, did you read those articles I provided?

    Nice talking with you! Thanks for the conversation. I will look for your repsonse.

    Mitchell

Leave a Reply

