National Registry of Atheists

So there’s this pastor living in Florida that thinks he would like to make a national registry of atheists that would include names, address, and maybe a photo.  He would like to do this so all the “Loving Christians”, such as himself, would be able to spot them and boycott any businesses they may operate, and make them social outcasts wherever they are found.

This hateful man is Pastor Mike Stahl of Miramar, Florida and he writes in his blog:

 “Brothers and Sisters, I have been seriously considering forming a (Christian) grassroots type of organization to be named “The Christian National Registry of Atheists” or something similar.  I mean, think about it.  There are already National Registrys for convicted sex offenders, ex-convicts, terrorist cells, hate groups like the KKK, skinheads, radical Islamists, etc…”

And:

“Now, many (especially the atheists), may ask “Why do this, what’s the purpose?” Duhh, Mr. Atheist, for the same purpose many States put the names and photos of convicted sex offenders and other ex-felons on the I-Net – to INFORM the public…”

 And:

 “Frankly, I don’t see why anyone would oppose this idea – including the atheists themselves (unless of course, they’re actually ashamed of their atheist religion, and would prefer to stay in the ‘closet.’)

Talk about a slap in the face…he compares us to sex offenders, criminal felons, terrorists and other bad guys.  The atheists I know in person and the ones I “meet” through my writing this blog are some of the nicest and finest people in the world.  Most of them are pacifists towards war, and contrary to Christian expectations we do not generally rape and pillage every chance we get.

My experience with Christians is that most of them are very nice and sociable in person…this is from my admittedly limited contacts with them (I do not go to church of course), but the majority of the ones I come across on the web are truly hard to understand and I find that a lot of the organized ones such as Answers in Genesis, Creation Research Institute, and others just flat out lie and twist the truth and do anything they can to make their positions look better than they actually are.

Having originally come from the South, I am familiar with this sort of bigoted and hateful thinking in the religious communities.  There are millions of them and the pastors of their churches feed into their prejudices every Sunday.  The children are brainwashed and many are seriously lacking in common decency towards people that are not clones of themselves.  They are suspicious of book learning and “outlanders.” and of course those “Damn Yankees.” Don’t mess with their religion!!

I feel pity towards this Pastor and I hope he will eventually see the error of his ways and learn to accept humans who don’t believe as he does.

Update: The Pastor is apparently receiving to much attention as he shut down open access to his blog…you now have to be invited.
.
.

Republicans always want to cut education funding

About the word of me
Interested in family and friends,grandchildren, photography, darkrooms, history, archaeology, scuba diving, computers, software, fast cars, journalism, writing, travel, ecology, news, science, and probably most other subjects you could think of. Did I mention family and friends?? I require iced tea or cold brewed coffee and a internet connection to be fully functional. Sometimes there are just so many words in my head they spill out.

6 Responses to National Registry of Atheists

  1. Butterfly Flower says:

    Christians tend to rationalize their own misfortunes by blaming it on “sinners” pissing off God. Bad things happen to good Christians because those evil atheists sent God into a furious blind rage.

    “Let’s piss off God so he’ll smite Christians!”

    …basically Christians believe atheists [& homosexuals] behave like the Legion of Doom.

  2. Pingback: Pastor Mike is a Back Seat Driver |

  3. the word of me says:

    Hi Butterfly Flower, thanks for writing.

    Pretty name. 🙂

    Christians are basically unthinking robots when it comes to their religion. They cannot seem to think logically about the concept of a god, but can use logic just fine (mostly) on other subjects.

    I still struggle to understand them after 50+- years.

  4. Butterfly Flower says:

    Christians are basically unthinking robots when it comes to their religion. They cannot seem to think logically about the concept of a god, but can use logic just fine (mostly) on other subjects.

    I still struggle to understand them after 50+- years.

    Personally, I struggle to understand why devout Christians refuse to confront the flaws of their religion. If they believe in their Bible so much, why do they pick and choose what scriptures to follow? If they trust their God so much, why are they always trying to rationalize his alleged decisions?

    When I talk to devout Christians, I feel like I have to avoid certain subjects because their minds are always on the verge of “blue-screen-of-death” mode. I try my best to avoid subjects they can’t rationalize. Unfortunately, I suffer from juvenile arthritis. Since they can’t rationalize my illness, they tend to just alienate me. Or worse: blame my inherited autoimmune disease on the devil, or even accuse me of lacking the faith required for God to heal me of my condition [oh, those wacky faith-healing Pentecostals].

    Pretty name. 🙂

    It’s an allusion to an Italian nursery rhyme. Butterfly Flower is alliterative in Italian; Farfalla Fiore.

  5. the word of me says:

    Hi Butterfly Flower, thanks for writing.

    You write:
    “Personally, I struggle to understand why devout Christians refuse to confront the flaws of their religion. If they believe in their Bible so much, why do they pick and choose what scriptures to follow? If they trust their God so much, why are they always trying to rationalize his alleged decisions?”

    You and me both. I think the truth is very slooowly sinking in though, and it will take some time before it becomes accepted. The world has had two thousand years of brainwashing by experts and the daily peer pressure is tremendous. At least now we don’t have to worry about being burned alive or stretched out on the rack (here in America anyway). Although there are people and organizations who want to take us back to the ‘Dark Ages.’

    I’m sorry I don’t know anything about juvenile arthritis (will be reading up on it though). I can’t imagine how some people would treat someone poorly for something that beyond their control…I don’t think I would keep such people as friends. Blaming someone for their own sickness is just sick itself…get away from people like this. Most people don’t believe in demons, devils, witches, etc. anymore, thank goodness, but there are a surprising number of religious denominations who do. I would stay away from those kind of people…they are scary evil.

  6. Pingback: National Registry of Atheists? Where do I sign up? | Gashouse Radio

Leave a Reply

