We’ve Done the Paternity Tests

We’ve done the paternity tests, we’ve traced back the genealogy, we’re doing all kinds of in-depth testing of the human species. We are apes and the descendants of apes, who were the descendants of rat-like primates, who were children of reptiles, who were the spawn of amphibians, who were the terrestrial progeny of fish, who came from worms, who were assembled from single-celled microorganisms, who were the products of chemistry. Your daddy was a film of chemical slime on a Hadean rock, and he didn’t care about you—he was only obeying the laws of thermodynamics.  P.Z. Myers

Am I bothered by this; do I find my distant past and parentage embarrassing, or does this somehow diminish my humanism?  Hell no…I think it’s kind of cool.  It makes absolutely no difference in my life, it doesn’t hold me back in anyway, and I don’t feel some kind of loss because some mythical man-made sky god didn’t create us out of dirt.  Silly story anyway.
.
funny dog pictures - my opinion of your opinion.
see more dog and puppy pictures

About the word of me
Interested in family and friends,grandchildren, photography, darkrooms, history, archaeology, scuba diving, computers, software, fast cars, journalism, writing, travel, ecology, news, science, and probably most other subjects you could think of. Did I mention family and friends?? I require iced tea or cold brewed coffee and a internet connection to be fully functional. Sometimes there are just so many words in my head they spill out.

Leave a Reply

